loooooong day

Well, I had actually intended a somewhat clever post about earning parent badges, but this day’s been so long, I really don’t have it in me.

Sam woke up last night around 2:30 am, throwing up.  The poor baby’s never done that before, so it was a new experience for all of us.  He’s doing muchmuch better the rest of today, hasn’t gotten sick since about 5:30 this morning, and is keeping down fluids and the very tiny bit of mild food he’ll actually eat.

At this point would come the clever part about earning parenting badges, as I’ve now earned my “pukey child in the middle of the night” badge… I even made a graphic earlier.

Pukey-child-in-the-middle-of-the-night badge

My ability to function during a day like this apparently depends on whether Sam is awake, or “asleep but needs checking”.  That badge was made during his nap earlier, an “asleep but needs checking” time.  At the moment Sam is in the “asleep for the night and will hopefully be fine till morning” period, which means my brain shuts off.

Anyway, maybe more badges will come later if I expand on the idea.  I searched earlier to find if anyone else had done this before, made virtual parenting badges, and weirdly enough, someone somewhere blogged about just such an idea YESTERDAY.  Reminds me of an article in The New Yorker about people inventing things (like the telephone) at the same time in different places, completely seperately.

If you were interested in real life badges, to sew on your… sash?… someone’s already got those ready for you, at $5 a pop.  They’re pretty cute, but I like the virtual idea myself.

Enough babbling for tonight.  Hope everyone’s tomorrow was better than my today (though, all things considered, Sam is a very good little patient, so I can’t shouldn’t really complain too much).

-me aga[i]n

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. tom.cortes
    Jul 09, 2008 @ 00:46:46

    You’re a good parent! I wish you all the best.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

